Balancing the Many Agvocacy Needs

For those that don’t know me, once the farm work is taken care of, and family needs are met (sometimes those can be quite significant at our house – they’ll grow up someday!), my passion is online agriculture advocacy.  I love everything about rural America, the people, the way of life, the wide open spaces, the values.  And to me, it’s under attack, for many ways and reasons.

The best way I know to deal with that is to encourage those who live the lifestyle I love every day to speak up, to share with a voting public far removed from modern agriculture that although the tools and sometimes the methods have changed, the core values of honesty, integrity, hardwork and taking care of one another through the good and bad times still remain.

So tonight, I was driving to an ag technology conference, had lots of time to think.  I mentally planned a blog post I’ve been wanting to do for some time, on local food.  It was crystal clear in my mind, ready to go.

Once I got settled into my hotel room, I fired up the computer.  Alas, my blogging ideas got changed.  The first culprit was Quora a very interesting new social media service I’ve spent too much time with lately, there were some followups there I needed to make.  Then there were some Facebook things to check out.  Emails to respond to.  In short, I spent a fair amount of time “agvocating” this evening, but my original objective did not get completed.

I think there’s a bigger lesson here, there’s a wide, wide world of opportunity to share the ag story, whether your interest is shooting video for Youtube,  conversations on Twitter or photos on Facebook.  Whether you use a computer, your phone, or the hot new iPad, the choices are yours.  The important part is you do something, do what you enjoy, it’s probably what your good at, and that’s what’s important.

You won’t understand every tool, you don’t even need to know every tool that exists.  For being such a “techie” sometimes folks are surprised at how little I know about a particular tool or service.  That’s by design, we can each handle only so much, I know what I want to focus on, because I think it’s where I can contribute the most.  I know each person has their unique talents and abilities, I hope you focus there too

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by raylindairy on January 19, 2011 at 11:45 pm

    Amen Darin!

    Reply

  2. Luckily there are lots of folks who want to talk ag so none of us need to do it all!

    Reply

  3. Excellent insight Darin. For me there are so many opportunities that exist and yet there is a fine life balance to keep also. My focus is my family and kids. I use my passion for advocacy in agriculture to connect with a larger audience and then bring them back to our family farm story. I think the more sharing we can do through a variety of tools the better. There is a wrong way to tell your family farming story and the most important thing like you said is to use the tools to do! Thanks for the great blog post.

    Reply

  4. Great insight. I struggle with the time issue, and while I would love to utilize a lot of different mediums to advocate for agriculture as I think things like YouTube, blogging, Twitter, Facebook, etc., all have different strengths – I do not have the strength (time) to do it all.

    Thanks for reminding me of something I usually try to adhere to: Do one thing (or a few) and do it well.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Veronica on January 24, 2011 at 10:16 am

    I really dont see the fight between present day farming practices and environmentalist between Farm families and environmentalists. I see the fight as being between the big Farm corporations and the environmentalists. Farm Families are more connected to the environment and animals and care about them heck more then environmentalist because if the environment goes belly up so does your way of life. Farmers felt the health effects of harmful pesticides long before the rest of us. It’s the big corporation that are farming that do the things that make people upset. If anything I would think the Family Farmers and Envos would be on the same side. So I guess I am saying that thanks to social media I see that for some reason the small farmer feels they are the target of envos?

    Reply

    • Veronica — research large corporations and environmental activism. Unfortunately the two are often times linked. As a small family farm excessive and unneeded regulation is much more expensive for my operation than for larger “corporate” farms

      Reply

Leave a Reply

