Dreaming of being a farmer

This is a story of a single farm kid.  A farm kid whose been my agronomist and seed dealer for several years.  He’s fulfilling a dream today, he’s headed home to the farm.  It’s something that’s hard to explain, but a fairly large percentage of the folks working in agriculture today grew up as “farm kids”.  And for many, there’s a dream, often only a dream, that some day they’ll be back on that farm.  I’m sure they each have a story, I can only share the personal one here, my work with Kent.

Kent was an agronomist, I first got to know him when he worked for the local ag retailer we do a lot of business with.  We often rode around together looking at fields, evaluating crops, and talking farming.  Kent talked often of home (which was 30 miles to the west).  I remember the 80 acres he bought, his first farm several years ago.  We spent a lot of time talking about that 80 acres, the soil, the variability, how he could coax the most bushels out of the ground, at what price to sell those bushels.  We farmed that 80 acres often!

Kent was good, he knew his stuff, and I enjoyed the friendship.  I’ll miss him, but there’s no mixed emotions on seeing him leave, I’ve known for years that this is what he wanted to do, as much as he evaluated, planned and helped us on various aspects of crop production,  that wasn’t where his heart was.  So while I miss Kent, I’m also happy for him, and wish him the best as he fulfills that dream of being a farmer.

You can take the boy off the farm, but you can’t take the farm out of the boy

 

 

5 responses to this post.

  1. Well said, Darin. True with about any farm kid. When it’s in your blood, it’s in your heart.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Bonnie Schulz on February 21, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    I love it when kids are patient enough to follow their dreams to be farmers. My husband worked in town for over 11 years after high school while building his(our) farm operation. One year after we were married he was able to become a full-time farmer. He’s been living his dream ever since. Our son has always had it in his blood and has stuck it out working for someone else while building his own farm operation, hoping that someday very soon he will be able to say he’s a full-time farmer. We are really praying for next year. Thanks Darin for sharing this inspirational story.

    Reply

  3. Sounds a lot like me. I was always going to farm until my last semester at Purdue getting me Soil and Crop Management degree. Suddenly I decided I wasn’t going to come home and see what else was out there. I worked on the family farm while job searching and lucked out when Rural King announced a new store was coming to our town. I was hired as assistant manager and spent 4 1/2 of my six years there as a store manager at two different locations. If I happened to pass by dad in the tractor or combine on the way home from work I’d always pull over a catch a ride. After some time in the retail world I started looking for jobs with co-ops and seed companies. A few promising leads, but at locations far from home and we’d just built our first house (5 minutes from the farm) and I was driving 35 minutes to and from work and working long hours and Saturdays already. Finally, I realized back on the farm was where I was meant to be, but I never would have known it if I hadn’t left, and my work experience has made me a better businessman and helps me look at our operation from a different view. I’ve been back for two full years now and I love every minute of it. Now I’m jumping into blogging and social media to tell our story!

    Reply

  4. Sounds familiar…but I left the industry completely for a long time. I think when you are raised on farming, it’s like dirt under your nails…I just keeps coming back!
    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

