Why I love Farmers – Reason #237

So I have a small consulting business where I help some local farmers implement technology in their operations, mostly involving crop records, mapping, variable rate application map creation and implementation etc.  But also just some pretty unusual technical support requests.  Yesterday, one of them needed a sprayer monitor update.  Fairly involved process, and one prone to challenges.  If you don’t get it done right, you have to send the monitor into the company (and be without it’s features for a week+) Fortunately, I had updated the exact same monitor for another farmer earlier in the year. One oddity was that the only computer we could make work was an old notebook the earlier farmer owned.

So I got this call yesterday, and made plans to go over this morning.  Naturally, they would have liked me there five minutes after I called, but wasn’t going to work for me.  This morning, I called the original farmer to see if I could use his computer and also to refresh my memory a bit on what we did with his monitor.

AND HE TELLS ME HE WENT OVER LAST EVENING AND UPDATED THE OTHER FARMERS MONITOR HIMSELF

Farmers are like that.  If they can help, they will.  They aren’t afraid to jump into something they don’t know a lot about.  Their not afraid to share knowledge, info, and expertise with a neighbor.  And this morning, I benefited and am very thankful for those traits.

(and yea, I really haven’t COUNTED the 236 other reasons why I love farmers (or farming) but I’m sure I could!)

Leave a Reply

