Data.. WOW!

Many of my regular readers know that I have a deep interest in data and what we can learn from it.  I haven’t spent as much time with numbers as I would like recently, but the love is still there.  All I can say is READ THIS POST

I’ll share a bit of perspective.  Stephen Wolfram created the Mathematica software application, an advanced tool for crunching numbers and data.  In more recent times, his company released the Wolfram Alpha “computational knowledge engine”.  Apple’s Siri product uses this engine for some of it’s answers.  It’s a powerful tool that seeks to provide data-based answers to natural language queries.

What I learned from Stephen’s blog post that I shared above is that he has been keeping track of almost EVERY detail of his life since 1990.  Emails, phone calls, EVERY keystroke!!!!  (more than 100 million of them!)

See all the details, with lots of pretty graphs, in his post

(I apologize for the rather poor formatting, the excessive use of all caps in this post, but when I read his analysis of his detailed personal data, I couldn’t contain the excitement.  This is the kind of thing that causes deep, deep, thrill in me like little else can, it is one of the most incredible things I have every come across, and it is sooo fitting that someone who’s life’s work is releasing products that do an incredible job of massaging and computing data has kept so much data on his personal life).

In so many ways, THANK YOU STEPHEN

Back to your regular scheduled programming with the next post

Leave a Reply

