Secrets

I’ve been on a fairly long blogging vacation, and one of the things that has been on my mind a lot lately is my faith.  It’s not something I talk about online much at all, but it’s a very stressful/difficult time.  If praying is something you do, I would ask for your prayers.  One of the better sources of inspiration in all of this is an author I happened to stumble on a couple of months or so ago, Rachel Held Evans.  I recently read her book:  Evolving in Monkey Town:  How a Girl Who Knew All the Answers Learned to Ask the Questions

Secrets

I certainly do not agree with everything Rachel questions or believes, but something about her style of writing, her experiences, what she feels she’s learned, has meant a lot.  It’s not the kind of book I can unconditionally recommend, I am sure I have friends that would wonder whats wrong with me, there’s several friends I’ve met via social media that I would highly recommend the book to as a far better look at what I personally believe Christianity to be about than what I hear from much of the mainstream “Christian” movement today.

But it was Rachel’s latest blog post that inspired me to write this (and provided my blog title!), it’s an incredibly insightful look at living  in a social media/always connected world.  At maintaining our humanness, while yet enjoying the benefits of  the multitude of connections we all have.  It’s a perfect example of why I appreciate hearing Rachel’s perspective on the wide range of topics she covers.

 

And I’m thinking it’s probably best I haven’t figured out how to categorize my blog posts, not sure this one fits with anything I’ve previously written!

8 responses to this post.

  1. Hi, Darin. This past spring I read RHE’s book and blogged about it too. What I like about her is her willingness to question and not to take things at face value. I can relate to that.

    But when I began following her blog, my experience was different than yours–and that’s okay. I hope we can agree to disagree on this one.

    Maybe I misunderstood, but her blog seems to be peppered with poking fun at Christians. I found her attitude mean-spirited rather than empathetic or conciliatory. She quite casually treads on Biblical ideas and truth. That troubled me to the point I had to stop reading her.

    “Mainstream Christianity” could be accused of doing the same sorts of things to non-believers. While RHE offers a refreshing point of view, to me she swings too far in the opposite direction and that’s not much better.

    For what my meager opinion is worth, I’d encourage you to keep questioning and reading. I pray God gives you wise discernment and many sources that inspire you in this stressful time. God doesn’t hide Himself from us. Pray He reveals Himself to you in a way you can know and understand. Faith can be a tough row to hoe, but worth the struggle.

    Reply

  2. Aimee, thank you so much. I wrote this blog because there is a lot I question right now, and your thoughts are exactly the kind of thing I need to hear.

    I think you hit the nail on the head, often times we respond to what we consider wrong by swinging to far in the opposite direction, at a personal level I can see myself in that spot right now.

    Thanks for your prayers!

    Reply

  3. So glad I saw this just before bed. I’m certainly intrigued by this book and blog. I look forward to reading more. Not growing up in a home with a focus on God, religion, etc, I ask too many questions sometimes and I think it frustrates some “Christians.” On the other hand, I do believe that our God is amazing and he sent his only Son so we can be forgiven. That is awesome. Tonight (and for the next while) you can count on some extra prayers from the Oleen household.

    Reply

    • Thank so much Jodi! If the book wasn’t stuck in electronic form on the Kindle, I’d gladly loan it to you. And I maybe should have been more clear in my post, we do serve an AWESOME God, I don’t question that, I do question what it means to “serve him” at times

      Reply

  4. Posted by Meagan on June 1, 2012 at 4:57 am

    Loved this post Darin. Questioning is always right. I was raised Catholic….in a Catholic school but never “got” God. Two or three years ago our family found God thru a wonderful church and awesome mentors. He has changed our family and our lives. I still have questions and continue to read and ask. Definitely going to check out this book and blog.
    Prayers going up to our Heavenly Father that you may hear the Holy Spirit…and keep askin’!

    Reply

    • Thank you Meagan, similar to the differences I saw reading this book of Rachels, your and I’s experiences growing up were very different. I wonder today if there doesn’t need to come a point in any Christian’s life where they see/realize and have to deal with the reality that it isn’t what we were taught, just going to church, etc. But that God needs to be very personal and live in our everyday life. If that’s the case I have a lot of learning to do!

      Reply

  5. Greatly appreciated reading this post. Now, it makes me wonder more about your personal beliefs.
    I heard it said once that we are so quick to answer someone when they seek an answer from us. And inside, we do contain many answers we seek. What we need is someone to just ask us the right question.

    I too have found that this experience called life is helping me prepare for whats on the other side. Not easy, unless you know where you come from. God is simply amazing
    Prayers for you my friend.

    Reply

    • Very much Thanks Steve. Through this time, I’ve heard it said best that some folks have versed underlined in their Bible that mean the most, others may have a completely different set of verses. Such things can/are causing problems for a chruch, which ultimately leads me to really questioning what I believe, not questioning God, but questioning what God would want from me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

