Has your life been profoundly changed by the drought?

I wrote a blog post about the drought a couple weeks ago, one of the more interesting contacts I got was from Charles.  He wanted to share this message with those that read this blog in the hopes that someone could be found that could tell the drought story from a life-altering personal perspective.
 
 
First of all, I want to say that my heart goes out to those of you who are struggling through this drought.
 
Secondly, I want to thank Darin for sharing this message with his readers.
 
I am an assistant professor of journalism at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.  I specialize in visual journalism – telling stories through photos and video.  Over the years, my work has taken me to fifty-one countries and most US states, and I have been fortunate to meet amazing people in my professional life – individuals who have opened up their lives to me and my cameras in the interest of sharing their stories with others.
 
The drought is one of the most important stories of this year.  It is certainly the most important story in the midwest.  In order to tell this story in the most personal way possible, I am looking for someone whose life and livelihood has been profoundly changed by the drought – the kind of person/family/business-person that Darin has so eloquently written about here:  https://daringrimm.wordpress.com/2012/07/19/drought-happens/
 
I see a lot of news stories about the drought, but I am looking for something deeper and more personal than I see on the evening news or in the newspapers.  So, if the drought is, for you, a life altering event and you would like to share your story, please e-mail me at stretch@illinois.edu.  If you know of someone who might have a profound story to associated with this event, please pass my e-mail address on to them.
 
Thank you very much.  I wish you all the best –
One response to this post.

  1. Thanks again for posting this, Darin.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

